Arts & Sciences dean search 2019-20

Washington University in St. Louis invites nominations and applications for the position of Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences.

Arts & Sciences seeks an eminent, energetic, strategic, ambitious, and collaborative leader to serve as its next dean. The dean is responsible for all aspects of Arts & Sciences research activities, academic programs, fundraising, finances, outreach, and other operations. As a senior member of the Washington University leadership team, the dean works closely with faculty, the chancellor, and the provost to manage Arts & Sciences programs and resources in furtherance of the university's academic and institutional goals.

Barbara A. Schaal, current dean of the faculty of Arts & Sciences and the Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor of Biology, announced in March her intention to step down as dean by the end of the 2019-20 academic year. Since becoming dean on Jan. 1, 2013, she has been responsible for maintaining the highest standards of research, scholarship, and teaching in Arts & Sciences.

The full position description can be found at


Community feedback encouraged

Members of the Arts & Sciences community are welcome to contact the search firm directly to submit nominations or any other feedback on the search. The firm may be reached at:


Search committee members appointed

Chancellor Andrew D. Martin and Interim Provost Marion G. Crain, the Wiley B. Rutledge Professor of Law at the School of Law, have appointed a 16-member committee with Aaron F. Bobick, dean of the McKelvey School of Engineering and the James M. McKelvey Professor, serving as chair. Other members of the search committee are:

  • Todd R. Decker, chair and Paul Tietjens Professor of Music, Arts & Sciences;
  • Ruth Durrell, a senior majoring in educational studies with a second major in sociology, Arts & Sciences, and an undergraduate student representative to the Board of Trustees;
  • Marie Griffith, director of the John C. Danforth Center on Religion and Politics and the John C. Danforth Distinguished Professor;
  • Peter J. Kastor, chair of history and the Samuel K. Eddy Professor, Arts & Sciences;
  • Jennifer K. Lodge, vice chancellor for research, associate dean for research and professor of molecular microbiology, School of Medicine;
  • Jonathan B. Losos, the William H. Danforth Distinguished University Professor in biology, Arts & Sciences, and director of the Living Earth Collaborative;
  • T. Joseph MacDonald III, MA ’13, doctoral candidate in classics, Arts & Sciences;
  • Beth Martin, senior lecturer in environmental studies in Arts & Sciences and associate director of the Washington University Climate Change Program;
  • Michelle A. Purdy, associate professor of education, Arts & Sciences;
  • Ebba Segerberg, associate dean of academic planning, Arts & Sciences;
  • John W. Shareshian, professor of mathematics, Arts & Sciences;
  • Margit Tavits, professor of political science, Arts & Sciences;
  • Barbara Schaps Thomas, AB ’76, member of the Board of Trustees and chair of the Arts & Sciences National Council;
  • Adia Harvey Wingfield, professor of sociology and associate dean for faculty development in Arts & Sciences; and
  • Jeffrey M. Zacks, professor of psychological and brain sciences, Arts & Sciences.

Lisa M. Siddens, assistant provost for strategic projects and appointments, will assist the committee in this search.